So, fine, parsley scallion hummus is an idea I stole from the Whole Foods salad bar.

You know what else is really good at Whole Foods? The arugula, corn, and red onion salad. And the rare, exotic slippers.

I kid, WF! I kid because I am deeply ambivalent about you.

Oh well, this hummus is awesome. There is so much herbage in here that it tastes abnormally fresh, and it is a super pleasant hue of green. I want to recommend that you eat it not just with pita chips, but on an openfaced hummus bagel, which is my new favorite breakfast. You toast a bagel, spread each half with at least 2 T of hummus, and top each with a slice and a half of tomato, four slices of cucumber, and a few slivers of red onion (I dig precision). Plus some salt and pepper.

What a fine breakfast! Or lunch; I had it yesterday. You have to hold those cukes in place as you shove the thing in your mouth but the awkwardness is worth it.

If you’re accustomed to buying canned chickpeas, I encourage you to try cooking your own. It’s satisfying and cheap as all getout. I’ve used my mom’s quick-cook instructions in the recipe; this reduces the soaking time from overnight to just over an hour. That means you can make beans anytime you have a spare couple hours. I realize that I am speaking from a position of luxury. I don’t work 9-5. But even if you do, you can boil beans from scratch.

Parsley Scallion Hummus
makes 3 C

1 C dried chickpeas
4-5 scallions, sliced thinly
2.5 C parsley leaves (this was about one bunch for me)
2 T tahini
2 T lemon juice
1/4 t cumin seeds
1 1/2 t kosher salt
olive oil

In a small saucepan, cover the dried chickpeas with cold water. Bring to a boil, cover, and turn off the heat. In an hour, make sure the beans are still covered with water (add more if you need to), bring to a boil, then reduce the heat to a simmer and cook until the beans are soft (about 50-60 minutes). Set aside.

In a food processor, finely chop the scallions. Then add the parsley and grind grind grind. Add the chickpeas, tahini, lemon juice, cumin, and salt and process until the chickpeas are all ground up and have formed a ball. Then, with the processor on, start drizzling in olive oil. You’re going to keep drizzling until the chickpea ball becomes hummus. You can stop at any time, taste it, and see if the hummus is moist enough for your taste yet. This will require a good amount of olive oil! I’m guessing at least 1/3 C. If this freaks out you, you can reserve 1/4 C of the chickpea cooking water and use that when you’ve hit your oil wall. But I enjoy a good fat.

Check for seasonings, and add more lemon or salt as needed. Serve at room temperature.

