At Amber Waves, we used to sell fresh tomatillos from time to time. When they didn’t all sell, we’d make green salsa. When the green salsa didn’t sell, we’d make green enchiladas. This sort of behavior exemplifies a central family philosophy: make ’em eat it. I do this all the time, but I am ’em. You’d think I was raised in the depression. I get the same pleasure out of finishing the last of whatever glop is lurking in a tupperware as I do from crossing tasks off a list.

In any case, a love for tomatillos, their weird, sticky flesh and their papery shells, was born.

(I used red onions originally, but I don’t think the salsa needs them and so I left them out of the recipe.)

This salsa I made from first-rate ingredients, but I’ve made too much and now I’m looking for a new vehicle. My current idea is that it would be amazing on top of rice and beans. Maybe with some fried plantains.

But for now I’m eating them with these yuca tortillas from Veganomicon. I wanted to write about them too but I find yuca too frustrating for words. How can a yuca root yield so little yuca? It’s very frustrating. Unlike this salsa, which is pliant as well as delicious, and best suited to eating with a giant sack of corn chips.

Tomatillo Avocado Salsa
makes 3 cups (i.e. a ton)

1 lb. tomatillos, husked
3 large garlic cloves, peeled
1 jalapeno, seeds removed
1 C cilantro (mostly leaves, some stems are fine)
1 t kosher salt
2 T lime juice
2 avocados

Bring a large pot of water to boil. Dump in the tomatillos and garlic cloves and cover for three minutes. Fish out the tomatillos as they soften. As you would expect, the small ones cook faster than the large ones. As you drag out the last fatties, grab the garlic cloves too. Refrigerate the tomatillos and garlic for one hour.

In a food processor, buzz up the japaleno and garlic cloves. Add the cilantro and buzz again. Then add the chilled tomatillos, salt, lime juice, and one of the avocados. Process until smooth.

Peel and chop the second avocado. Stir it into the salsa and serve.

