I made these wonderful muffins 3 times over the holidays, but I didn’t have the time to post the recipe! Amber Waves had an overabundance of great squashes at Thanksgiving, both acorn and buttercup. The acorn were the usual light-colored flesh, but very sweet, and the buttercup, well, they were the best I’d ever eaten. As demand waned after Thanksgiving, I took home the leftovers and roasted them cut side down in a 400 degree oven till they were soft, about 40 minutes. When they were cool enough to handle, I scooped the flesh, packed and froze a few quarts, and put the rest in the fridge. Then I went online and looked for a recipe for pumpkin muffins. Epicurious had a few, Martha had one or two laden with sour cream and butter, so I looked at a site my daughter had recommended: Smitten Kitchen.

It seems this person makes recipes from all over the planet, this one comes from the American Club in Kohler, Wisconsin, via Gourmet Magazine! It had way too much sugar, especially considering the sweetness of the squash, so I cut back by 3/4 C and added pecans and dried cranberries.

Pumpkin Muffins with Pecans and Dried Cranberries
adapted from Smitten Kitchen
makes 12 petite muffins

1 1/2 C all purpose flour (I used 1/2 C. whole wheat flour and 1 C white)
1 t baking powder
1 C canned pumpkin (or your best leftover squash)
1/3 C vegetable oil (I used coconut)
2 large eggs
1 t pumpkin pie spice (or 1 t cinnamon, 1/2 t ginger & 1/8 t cloves)
1/2 – 3/4 C sugar (for cupcake-sweet muffins, use 1 1/4 C)
1/2 t baking soda
1/2 t salt
1/2 C chopped pecans
1/2 C dried cranberries

1 t cinnamon
1 T sugar

Heat oven to 350, butter or Pam your muffin pan.

Stir together pumpkin, oil (I heat the coconut oil so it’s liquid), eggs, and sugar till smooth.

Whisk the flour, baking powder, soda, salt and spices.

Mix the cinnamon with the sugar for topping the muffins.

Add the liquid ingredients to the dry, mix till just moist, and add the nuts and cranberries. Stir only till nicely distributed, and fill muffin cups about 3/4 full. Sprinkle with cinnamon sugar, and bake 25 – 30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean.

Cool in pan for 5 minutes, and transfer muffins to a rack to cool, if you can wait that long!

