I may have mentioned my obsession with these oatmeal pancakes. I mention them too often, considering that I have nothing really to say about them other than I LOVE THEM. But I’ve had no modifications to suggest or anything–they’re great as is.

But I didn’t have any oats one morning. I did have granola–experimental granola that I didn’t really love. We love restrictions, however, and so I made vegan granola pancakes.

I had never made vegan pancakes, but as with most of my sweet forays into the eggless dairyless world, I found that a flax egg is all you need to achieve greatness. I like almond milk best for baking–less overt flavor than soy–and I added a teaspoon of vinegar in order to replicate the tang of buttermilk. The granola needs to be pulverized a bit before you toss it in the batter, otherwise I suspect you’ll be waiting a long time for it to soak up the liquid. I also highly recommend some sort of oil spray for the pan: these pancakes are absorbent, and I find that canola spray or Pam really hits the spot between not-sticking and deep-frying. Then a little extra sprinkle of granola bits on the pancake tops as they cook, and as much warm maple syrup as you can handle.

Granola Pancakes
makes 22 3-inch pancakes (serves 3ish…I usually eat 8 but hey now before you judge these are small pancakes)

1 1/2 C granola, divided
1 1/4 C almond milk
1 t apple cider vinegar
1 T sugar
1 flax egg (1 T flax meal mixed with 3 T water)
2 T canola oil, plus more for the frypan
1 t vanilla extract
1/2 C AP flour
1/2 t baking soda
1/2 t baking powder
1/4 t kosher salt

Working in 1/3 C batches, bash up 1 C of the granola in a mortar and pestle. You want it to be relatively homogenous. A Cuisinart would probably work great as well. Set aside the other 1/2 C granola.

In a large bowl, whisk together the almond milk, vinegar, sugar, and granola. Once the flax egg has become viscous (5-10 minutes or so), whisk it in along with the canola oil and vanilla. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, leavening, and salt. Add to the wet bowl and stir to combine.

Set aside for 2 hours or so, or overnight.

Stick a sheetpan in the oven and preheat it to 250. Heat a frypan over medium heat. Spray with canola oil or Pam–these cakes will absorb whatever fat you use so I find the spray oil very helpful. Ladle the batter into the pan, about 2 T per pancake (I use a quarter-cup scoop, and get two cakes out of it). Now is the time for that extra 1/2 C of granola. Sprinkle a little over each cake. When the bottoms are golden brown (2 minutes or so), spray the tops with the canola oil and flip the cakes. Two more minutes, then transfer to the baking sheet in the oven. Repeat with the remaining batter. Serve with maple syrup.

P.S. These freeze like a dream. Lay them out in a single layer on a sheetpan lined with plastic wrap. Freeze. Then remove them from the sheetpan and stick them in a bag. Reheat in the oven at 350 until warm and crisp.

