I was looking online for a good apple crumble recipe last week, and found this one–simple, yet perfect. The topping is crunchy, the apples are both crispy and soft, as I used 3 different varieties. I reduced the sugar a bit, and added a shake of salt. I made it last week for me and my cousin, and as it’s suddenly freezing outside I made it tonight for me and my husband.

Simple Apple Crumble

3/4 C quick oats
3/4 C brown sugar
1/2 C flour
1 stick (1/2 C) butter or Earth Balance margarine
1/4 t cinnamon
a few shakes of salt
4-5 apples, some sweet, some tart, peeled and cored and cut in chunks
1/4 C water

Preheat oven to 350. Or 375 if your oven is a bit cool, like mine.

Prepare apples and place in a buttered 9″ square baking dish, or something similar in size. I used an oval one tonight. Sprinkle with
1/4 C water.

Stir together the oats, sugar, cinnamon and salt, and cut butter in small pieces into this mixture (you can use a pastry cutter for this, or just two knives, one in each hand). Now for the fun part – squish the butter into the oat mix with your fingers until it’s blended and sticking together. Kids like to do this. Sprinkle the crumble over the apples, covering as much territory as you can, but be sure to leave some chunks as these become delightfully cookie-like.

Bake 40 minutes, turning the pan once at 20 minutes. Serve with whipped cream or ice cream.

