When I visited my cousin last week, I made some zucchini bread from an internet recipe and it was quite sweet, crunchy on the outside and like pound cake inside. Not bad, but I wanted something more nutritious and less sweet.

I reviewed my old cookbooks, and found one from New Recipes from Moosewood using 1/2 the sugar. I tinkered with it a bit, adding ginger and eliminating raisins and making muffins instead of bread.

Zucchini Ginger Muffins
adapted from New Recipes from Moosewood
makes 12 small muffins

1/2 C vegetable oil
1/2 C brown sugar
2 eggs
1 1/2 t vanilla
1 C grated zucchini
3/4 C white flour
3/4 C whole wheat flour
1 t ground ginger
1 t ground cinnamon
1/2 t salt
1/2 t baking powder
1/4 t baking soda
1/4 C chopped walnuts
1/4 C chopped candied ginger

Preheat oven to 350. Oil or Pam 12 cup muffin tin.

Combine oil, brown sugar, eggs, vanilla and zucchini. Mix well. In a separate bowl whisk flours, spices, baking powders and salt. Stir dry ingredients into wet ones until just mixed. Fold in walnuts and candied ginger. Spoon batter into prepared muffin tin, to get 12 you need to be a little skimpy. Bake 20 minutes or until tops spring back when you touch them and are nicely browned.

