My parents were in town this weekend, and in between effecting significant improvements to our yard, making washers out of pennies, and eating tacos, we made guacamole. I had recently had avocados and cilantro on rice crackers at Katherine’s house, and I liked the combination–especially with seaweed rice crackers. And I started thinking that made sense, because the flavor profile of regular old guacamole isn’t far from the realm of seaweed and tamari.

When I mentioned this to my mom, she hurriedly suggested we add ginger and sesame oil to guacamole to see what happened. She then became fixated on the idea of garnishing the stuff with black sesame seeds, an idea that I apparently found uninteresting because when we were shopping I must have forgotten the black sesame seeds five times in a row. At a certain point it became funny–surely I must be making a joke at this point!–but no. I just kept forgetting to find them and put them in our basket.

But don’t forget them, if you’re making the asian variety. The black sesame seeds are a really pretty contrast to the avocado green, especially if you serve the guacamole on black sesame rice chips, as we did. They’re also totally addictive on those sesame blue chips.

I’m not sure what alchemy makes the combination of avocado and toasted sesame oil so good, but it is so good, and you should try it. The recipe isn’t so strong that you can’t still taste the avocados–you just get a little hint of ginger at the end, as you’re swooping in for another chip.

Guacamole, regs and vaguely asian-style
makes enough to serve a small gathering

2 avocados
1 serrano chile, finely chopped
1 small clove of garlic, minced
juice of half a lime
1 scallion, thinly sliced
3 T chopped cilantro
salt to taste (start with 1/4 t kosher salt)

Mash one of the avocados with the other ingredients. Slice the other into strips, and then slice the strips into chunks. Stir the chopped avocado into the mashed. This gives the guacamole what I consider to be an ideal texture.

Then, if you’re feeling frisky, add:

1/4 t toasted sesame oil
1/2 t chopped ginger

and garnish with

black sesame seeds

Serve with chips or rice crackers.

