I’m a little embarrassed about this post because its topic is basically breakfast cereal. Does anyone need a recipe for that? Recommendations on what brand to buy? I mean, I’m glad to share my affection for multi-grain Cheerios but I doubt anyone finds it particularly interesting. I don’t find it interesting.

However, I made some great cereal this morning. It may have seemed greater than it actually was because I had a cooking failure last night. I had planned a new dish for weeks: it would be a play on chile relleno, a dish that I like in theory but don’t really like eating in practice (I think it’s the egg batter). MY dish would also feature fire roasted chiles, but I would stuff them with a mixture of pinto beans, roasted corn, quinoa, and hunks of melty cheese. Then I would make a tomatillo and green chile sauce, drench all my pretty stuffed chiles with it, cover with cheese and bake. Doesn’t that sound good? Anything with that much cheese ought to taste excellent. It didn’t. I mean, it’s edible. And I’ll probably force myself to eat at least half of what’s left. But I can’t recommend that anyone else make it.

This realization was disappointing, particularly because there were already pictures, ones that I really liked: chiles mid-stuff, the stovetop covered with crackling pasilla peppers, etc. They’ll be languishing on the hard-drive forever. I’m certainly not going to post a picture of this morning’s cereal, in part because that would be ridiculous and in part because it looked like dirty snow. But it, unlike the chiles, was delicious.

I’m not sure. Maybe people have been eating this for years and I just didn’t know. I’m sure they’ve been doing it in Switzerland. But in the off chance that you, dear reader, have also failed to mix all these things together, I decided that my modest breakfast warranted a post, especially since I want to eat it again right now despite having recently devoured a giant bowl of spaghetti and meatballs.

I just threw stuff together in an inspired frenzy, but I think these measurements capture my breakfast experience accurately. The result is a hearty mash of dairy, grain, and fruit, with a variety of textures: crunchy, chewy, luxuriously smooth (that’s the yogurt…I’m partial to Fage 2%, which is way tastier than Fage fat-free with very little caloric difference).

Muesli with Greek Yogurt
serves 1

There are obviously a lot of possible substitutions you could make. Maple syrup for the brown sugar, dried cranberries for the raisins, a pear for the apple. Also, add nuts. Or coconut, toasted. Or some flax meal. Or chia seeds. Onward!

4 oz. greek yogurt (half a small container of Fage)
1/4 C raw rolled oats (2 handfuls)
1 apple
2 T raisins (1 handful)
1/4 t cinnamon
dash of salt
2 Weetabix biscuits (or a serving of some other crunchy plain cereal, like fiber twigs or bran flakes)
2 t brown sugar

Stir together the oats and yogurt (the oats will soften as they sit, which is why you do this step first). Grate the apple, using the big-holed side of a box grater. Stir it into the yogurt mix, along with the salt, cinnamon, and raisins. Finally, crumble the Weetabix over the mash and add the brown sugar. Gently stir together–the yogurt and apple provide just enough moisture to make the dry Weetabix palatable. I like the mixture when it’s not totally homogeneous, so that I get little pockets of brown sugar. Eat immediately for full textural enjoyment.

