I had these cranberries that weren’t looking too good, so I tossed them into a 2 qt. saucepan, covered them with water and the sugar, and cooked them until they were a nice mush. They were a little thick, so I added some water. I ate a spoonful on vanilla coconut ice cream, and noticed the skins were pretty tough. I dumped the rest into the processor, and buzzed ’em up till it was fairly smooth. You can stop there, or you can make this sauce sing with the addition of the ginger. I had a whole 1 lb. bag of it, still sitting on the counter after arriving from Amber Waves, I grabbed it and started chopping.

I had added less sugar to more cranberries than this recipe calls for, and decided to squirt in 1/4 c. of agave syrup to make it palatable. You could use honey or any liquid sweetener if this is too tart for you.

The sauce is a great foil to darker meats as well as turkey–pork especially though roast beef would be nice too.

Ginger Cranberry Sauce

1 lb. whole cranberries (frozen is fine)
1 C water
1 1/3 C sugar
1/4 lb. candied ginger, finely chopped

Stir the cranberries with the sugar and water in a 2-quart saucepan and cook over high heat. Don’t walk away because if it boils over it’s a mess! The cranberries will pop, especially if they’re fresh. Once the mixture comes to a boil, turn down the heat and simmer. Keep stirring occasionally–it’s done when most of the cranberries have popped and the sauce is soupy-gloppy.

Puree the sauce in a food processor, or with an immersion blender. Add the chopped ginger and serve.

